Institute for Molecular Bioscience
The University of Queensland
Brisbane, QLD

Contact Information

Call: +61 7 3346 2019


Prof David Craik

Centre Director

Institute for Molecular Bioscience
Group Leader, Chemistry and Structural Biology Division
Director, Clive and Vera Ramaciotti Facility for Producing Pharmaceuticals in Plants
Investigator, Centre for Pain Research

Professor Craik is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and Royal Society of Chemistry, as well as an ARC Laureate Fellow. He has built a world-leading research program in discovery, structural characterisation and applications of novel peptides over 35 years and has been a recent recipient of prestigious awards in the field, including the American Chemical Society Ralph F. Hirschmann Award in Peptide Chemistry and the Vincent du Vigneaud Award from the American Peptide Society. His experience in senior management roles (Dean of Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the Victorian College of Pharmacy, Director of Clive & Vera Ramaciotti Facility for Production of Pharmaceuticals in Plants) and extensive international links in academia and industry—including pharmaceutical, biotechnology and agricultural companies—position him to lead the Centre’s multidisciplinary research and to drive its translational outcomes.